Tatsuro Songs from L.A. 1 & 2 (1990 & 1991)

I had some positive feedback about my Noriyuki Makihara posts, so I thought people might like these two albums as well. This time the ‘western’ treatment gets given to a bunch of songs by Tatsuro Yamashita.

Voclaists that take a turn are Joseph Williams, Philip Bailey, Tom Keane and Maxine & Julie Waters. These are really nice albums, that interpret these great songs sympathetically and tastefully.


CoverSongs From L.A. 1 (1990)

Guitars: Michael Thompson, James Harrah, Tim Pierce
Keyboards: Tom Keane, Steve Goldstein
Bass: Neil Stubenhaus
Drums: John Robinson
Horns: Gary Grant, Lew McCreary, Bill Reichenbach
Sax: Marc Russo, David Koz
Background Vocals: Yvonne Williams, E. Wolfgram

1. Christmas Eve (Joseph Williams)
2. Sparkle (Elizabeth Wolfgram)
3. Touch Me Lightly (Dianne Reeves)
4. Windy Lady (Philip Bailey)
5. Your Eyes (Dianne Reeves)
6. The Whispering Sea (Elizabeth Wolfgram)
7. The Girl In White (Tom Keane)
8. Lady Blue (Tom Keane)

Songs From L.A. 2 (1991)

Producer: Kaz Masumoto

Guitars: Tim Pierce, Michael Thompson, James Harrah
Bass: Neil Stubenhaus
Keyboards : Steve Goldstein, Kohtaro Horiuchi, H. Koizumi
Drums: John “JR” Robinson
Percussion: Rafael Padilla
Sax: Dan Higgins, Dave Koz, Marc Russo
Horns: Gary Grant, Jerry Hey, Bill Reichenbach
Background vocals: Carmen Twillie, Julia & Maxine Waters

1. Get Back In Love (Joseph Williams)
2. Ride On Time (Gene Miller)
3. Merry Go Round (Philip Bailey)
4. Kokiatsu Girl (Gene Miller)
5. Saturday Is For Lovers (Maxine & Julia Waters, Carmen Twillie)
6. The Two Of Us -Futari- (Joseph Williams)
7. Wonderful Afternoon (Gene Miller)
8. Meditation (Gail Lopata Lennon)

Support the artists and Buy It!

Glenn Medeiros (1987)

Everybody knows the hit, and most think of him as a pop artist. However, dig deeper and what you get is a fine slice of Hi-Tech AOR. If you don’t know what that is, I’ll explain it to you one day. For me they are all strong tracks but ‘What’s It Gonna Take’ is excellent. By the way, Jay Gruska and the Keane Brothers feature on the album.


Producer: Jay Stone

Synthesizers, Saxophone: “Reverend” Dave Boruff
Bass: Michael Brady, John Pierce & Michael London
Guitars: Jeff Gilhart
Keyboards, Synthesizers: Jay Gruska, Ken Rarick & Bob Parr
Drums, Percussion: John Keane
Keyboards: Tom Keane
Leeza Miller: Vocals

1 Nothing’s Gonna Change My Love For You
2 Lonely Won’t Leave Me Alone
3 The Wings Of My Heart
4 A Stranger Tonight
5 Watching Over You
6 What’s It Gonna Take
7 A Fool’s Affair
8 You Left The Loneliest Heart
9 Knocking At Your Door

Support the artist and Buy It!