Positive Force feat. Denise Vallin (1981)

“Monster R&B soul rarity, private press LP. This is Holy Grail type stuff here, only a handful produced.” Popsike

Not to be confused with the Positive Force of ‘We Got The Funk’ fame, but they do pedal a very pleasant style of Soul Funk that is well executed and catchy as a harpoon aimed at a barrel of fish. They remind me, a little bit, of Seawind with their funk music and Denise’s Pauline Wilsonesque vocals.


Producer: Steve Russell


  • Steve Russell: Guitar
  • Larry Kester: Keyboards
  • Bill Liston: Saxophone & Flute
  • Denise Vallin: Vocals


  1. Everything You Do
  2. Give Me A Sign
  3. I Think Of You
  4. Now Is Not The Time
  5. Put It In The Groove
  6. Take Some Time Out
  7. The One I Love
  8. Too Much Love
  9. Too Much Love (edit)
  10. You Told Me You Loved Me
  11. You Gotta Know

Bugatti & Musker: The Dukes (1982)

I featured the song ‘Memories’ on my recent mix ‘Just The Two Of Us’. The whole album has a really loose, Westcoast feel, bordering on disco at times. ‘Mystery Girl’ even sounds like an old Michael Jackson track to my ears, which is probably because of the Arif Mardin production.

Check out their brilliant single 1976 pop/disco single ‘Ain’t No Smoke Without Fire’ below.


Produced: Arif Mardin

Vocals: Dominic Bugatti & Frank Musker
Drums: Jeff Porcaro & John “J.R.” Robinson
Keyboards & Synthesizers: Robbie Buchanan, Richard Tee, Bob Christianson & Pete Cannarozzi
Bass: Will Lee & Abraham Laboriel
Guitars: Steve Lukather, David Williams, Paul Jackson Jr. & Carlos Rios
Percussion: Paulinho Da Costa & Steve Forman
Horns: Larry Williams, Lew Soloff, Randy Brecker, Robert Mintzer, Roger Rosenberg, Keith O’Quinn, Lawrence Feldman & Earl Gardner
Background vocals: Hamish Stuart, Mark Stevens, Will Lee, Marcy Levy, Robin Beck & Mary Gaglia


  1. Mystery Girl
  2. Survivor
  3. Thank You For The Party
  4. Memories
  5. Excitement Of The New
  6. Love Dance
  7. Soul Mates
  8. So Much In Love

Support the artist and Buy It!

Donny Gerrard (1976)

Donny Gerrard was a member of Skylark with David Foster back in the seventies. They achieved some success with their single ‘Wildflower’ but split after their second album and Donny went on to produce this brilliant slab of vinyl. Better, in my opinion than the Skylark albums.

What you get is a pop/soul/funk hybrid that oozes Westcoast cool. Well worth your time.


Producer: Henry Grumpo Marx, Robbie Buchanan

1. He’s Always Somewhere Around
2. Stay Awhile With Me
3. Words (Are Impossible)
4. Stand Up (And Show Your Love)
5. The Long And Winding Road
6. Greedy For Your Love
7. Peace For Us All
8. You Must Believe Me
9. As Far As We Can Go

Support the artist and Buy It