Jim Scmidt: Somethin’ Right (1983)

I featured this album in my YouTube video “Artists Who Only Made One Album“. What makes this album extraordinary is the personnel featured on it, Paul Jackson Jr, Roby Duke, David Diggs, Richard Page & Steve George. Proper stuff and no half-hearted effort.

The inclusion of Roby Duke may given you a clue that this is a CCM album, if song titles like “Within His Joy” and  “Promised Land weren’t clue enough. It’s not too preachy though.

Listen and enjoy.


Producer: Terry Winch


Drums: John Ferraro
Bass: Leon Gaer
Guitars: Paul Jackson Jr., Roby Duke, David Diggs
Keyboards: David Diggs
Percussion: David Diggs
Horns: Danny Ackerman, Charlie Davis, Terry Winch, Ernie Carlson, David Boruff
Background Vocals: Richard Page, Steve George


1. Love Has Taken It All Away
2. Somethin’ Right
3. Not Your Love Alone
4. Within His Joy
5. The Person That I Really Want To Be
6. Serious
7. The Eye Of The Storm
8. Promised Land
9. Surer Of Myself
10. Destiny

Support the artist and Buy It!

Roby Duke: Not The Same (1982)

The word masterpiece is banded around a lot these days and probably unjustifiably in a lot of cases. However, this album is one of those that could very nearly claim that title. It is as near to perfect as you are likely to get for the style.

It’s CCM, there’s no secret about that, and for the most part I don’t like listening to CCM albums, especially when it’s rammed down your throat. Rob Mehl’s ‘Taste And See’ album is an example. This however is one of the few exceptions.


Producer: Jonathan David Brown

Drums: Keith Edwards
Guitars: Hadley Hockensmith, Marty Walsh
Bass: John Patitucci
Keyboards: Harlan Rogers
Synthesizers: Rob Watson
Percussion: Alex MacDougall
All Vocals: Roby Duke

1. Love Is Here To Stay
2. Time To Stand
3. Seasons of Change
4. Carpenter (Do What You Got To Do)
5. Feel It Comin’
6. Magnify The Load
7. Can’t Stop Runnin’
8. Not The Same
9. Promised Land

Support the artist and Buy It!