Boz Scaggs: Down Two Then Left (1977)

This album was always going to be a slightly tricky sell after the genius of ‘Silk Degrees’. For me this is not as good as that album or the one that followed it ‘Middle Man’, but it is still Boz Scaggs and it is still an excellent album.


Producer: Joe Wissert

Drums: Jeff Porcaro
Guitars: Jay Graydon, Ray Parker Jr., Steve Lukather
Bass: Scott Edwards, David Hungate
Piano: Jai Winding
Keyboards: Michael Omartian
Percussion: Bobbye Hall
Horns: Chuck Findley, Steve Madaio, Ernie Watts, Fred Selden, Don Menza, David Duke
Background Vocals: Carolyn Willis, Jim Gilstrap, John Lehman, Venetta Fields, Phyllis St. James, Myrna Matthews, Julia Tillman

1. Still Falling For You
2. Hard Times
3. A Clue
4. Whatcha Gonna Tell Your Man
5. We’re Waiting
6. Hollywood
7. Then She Walked Away
8. Gimme The Goods
9. 1993
10. Tomorrow Never Came

Support the artist and Buy It!

Peter Allen: I Could Have Been A Sailor (1979)

This was a precursor to his seminal “Bi-Coastal” album, which is a classic and is easily found elsewhere. This one features a plethora of session musicians and other recording artists as well as the original versions of ‘Don’t Cry Out Loud’ and ‘I’d Rather Leave While I’m In Love’, which were hits for Carole Bayer sager and Rita Coolidge respectively.

Although this isn’t quite as good as the aforementioned Bi-Coastal, it’s not far off at all.


Producers: Marvin Hamlisch, Mike Post

Drums: Rick Marata, Ed Greene, Steve Schaefer
Guitars: David Spinozza, John Tropea, Ray Parker Jr., Dan Ferguson, Jay Graydon, Fred Tackett
Bass: Will Lee, Abraham Laboriel, Leland Sklar, Jim Pierce, Dave Parlato
Keyboards: Richard Tee, Larry Knechtel
Synthesizer: Michael Boddicker, Greg Phillinganes
Piano: Peter Allen, Marvin Hamlisch
Percussion: Jim Maeulin, Victor Feldman, Paulinho Da Costa
Background Vocals: Bruce Roberts, Clydie King, Sherlie Matthews, Venetta Fields, Marty McCall, Linda Dillard, Herb Pedersen, Joey Scarbury

1. I Could Have Been A Sailor
2. Don’t Wish Too Hard
3. Two Boys
4. Angels With Dirty Faces
5. Don’t Cry Out Loud
6. If You Were Wondering
7. Don’t Leave Me Now
8. I’d Rather Leave While I’m In Love
9. We’ve Come To An Understanding
10. Paris At 21

Support the artist and Buy It!