Brian Elliott (1978)

This one is for my buddy Nick.

The album is littered with the usual line up of Westcoast stars and the songs are the typical Westcoast sound that I love. The song ‘Room To Grow’ can be found on DJ Supermarkt’s excellent first “Too Slow To Disco” compilation.

He went on to devote himself to full time production, which is a shame as this is a very strong album. Also, he wrote ‘Papa Don’t Preach’ as well. That’ll keep his swimming pool heated for a while.


Producers: Erik Jacobsen and Brian Elliot

Guitars: Larry Carlton, Fred Tackett, Lee Ritenour, Jay Graydon, Steve Beckmeier
Bass: David Hungate, Wilton Felder, Bob Glaub
Keyboards: Brian Elliot
Drums: Jeff Porcaro, Mike Baird, James Gadson, Gary Ferguson
Vibes: Victor Feldman
Horns: Anthony Terran, Julius Wetcher, Lew McCreary, Steve Madaio, David Wells, Seawind Horns
Background Vocals: Sherry Fox, Sue Richman, Valerie Carter, The Jones Sisters, The Waters

1. Let’s Just Live Together
2. Summer Nights In Hollywood
3. Queen Of Clowns (One For Lily T.)
4. Room To Grow
5. Tickets To Rio
6. The First Time
7. Seventeen Goin’ On Twenty-One
8. Old Nueva Laredo
9. Last Vegas Wedding
10. One Last Night Together

Support the artist and Buy It!

Vapour Trails (1979)

Another of those one off albums that leave you wondering what happened to the artists involved and asking yourself why they never produced another album. Larry Carlton sits in the producer’s chair for this one and between them they come up with a great album of Westcoast Pop. Shame they never gave it another try.

A bit of trivia for you: the track ‘Don’t Worry Baby’ was used a the theme tune for the Japanese programme ‘The Best Hit USA’.


Producers: Larry Carlton and Vapour Trails

Drums: John Ferraro, Steve Holly
Bass: Phil Curtis
Guitars: John McBurnie, Andy Dalby
Keyboards: Brian Mann, John McBurnie, William Smith, Michael Omartian, Dave Rose, Dave Benoit
Percussion: Paulinho Da Costa, Andy Dalby
Harmonica: John McBurnie
Sax: Mel Collins, Tom Scott
Lead Vocal: John McBurnie
Background Vocals: Vivienne McAuliffe, Betsy Cook, Bill Champlin

1. Do The Bossa Nova
2. Don’t Worry Baby
3. Night People
4. True Love
5. It’s Alright
6. Slow Dancing
7. Modern Love
8. Non Merci
9. Hold On To Something Good
10. Throw Down The Dice
11. Falling

Support the artist and Buy It!

Dane Donohue (1978)

Features some shit hot musicians and fantastic songs, which makes this an essential album for any lover of Westcoast AOR.  Apparently, before this album he was touring in ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’ but I have no idea what happened to him after this, his one and only album.


Producer: Terence Boylan with Jai Winding, Steve Hodge, John Boylan

Drums: Andy Smith, David Kemper, Steve Gadd, Ed Greene
Guitars: Larry Carlton, Dane Donohue, Jay Graydon, Steve Lukather
Bass: Jeff D’Angelo, Bob Glaub, Scott Edwards, Chuck Rainey, Mike Porcaro
Piano: Jai Winding, David Getreau, Victor Feldman
Percussion: Victor Feldman, Steve Forman
Sax: Ernie Watts
Horns: Steve Madaio, Chuck Findley, Slyde Hyde, Gary Herbig, Tom Saviano
Background Vocals: Don Henley, Stevie Nicks, J.D. Souther, Tim Schmit, Herb Pedersen, Tom Kelly, Bill Champlin


  1. Casablanca
  2. Dance With The Stranger
  3. What Am I Supposed To Do
  4. Woman
  5. Where Will You Go
  6. Freedom
  7. Can’t Be Seen
  8. Whatever Happened
  9. Tracey
  10. Congratulations

Support the artist and Buy It!