Boz Scaggs: Down Two Then Left (1977)

This album was always going to be a slightly tricky sell after the genius of ‘Silk Degrees’. For me this is not as good as that album or the one that followed it ‘Middle Man’, but it is still Boz Scaggs and it is still an excellent album.


Producer: Joe Wissert

Drums: Jeff Porcaro
Guitars: Jay Graydon, Ray Parker Jr., Steve Lukather
Bass: Scott Edwards, David Hungate
Piano: Jai Winding
Keyboards: Michael Omartian
Percussion: Bobbye Hall
Horns: Chuck Findley, Steve Madaio, Ernie Watts, Fred Selden, Don Menza, David Duke
Background Vocals: Carolyn Willis, Jim Gilstrap, John Lehman, Venetta Fields, Phyllis St. James, Myrna Matthews, Julia Tillman

1. Still Falling For You
2. Hard Times
3. A Clue
4. Whatcha Gonna Tell Your Man
5. We’re Waiting
6. Hollywood
7. Then She Walked Away
8. Gimme The Goods
9. 1993
10. Tomorrow Never Came

Support the artist and Buy It!

David Pack: Anywhere You Go (1985)

I am acutely aware that many people view this album as a classic, a Westcoast masterpiece. I do not. There, I said it. At the risk of being vilified I believe it’s time for me to come out of the closet and say it how I see it.

To my ears this is an okay album. It’s not too bad, but in no way is it a masterpiece of the genre. It’s not even Westcoast to me. I believe that it is closer to a kind of Hi-Tech, soft rock hybrid (with some Westcoast elements), released on the cusp between the peak Westcoast years and the advent of the hard rock sound of the mid to late Eighties.

Nonetheless, the songs are well written and well performed by a great cast of musicians and there are some really good tunes in there. It’s just not my particular peak of perfection. You decide…


Producers: David Pack and Michael Verdick

Drums: Prairie Prince, George Perilli, John Robinson, Jeff Porcaro
Guitars: David Pack, Kerry Livgren
Bass: Mike Porcaro, Joe Puerta, David Pack, Will McGregor, Stanley Clarke
Keyboards: David Pack, Kerry Livgren, Jai Winding, James Newton Howard
Synthesizers: David Pack, Jamie Bernstein, Hawk Wolinski
Percussion: Burleigh Drummond, Paulinho Da Costa
Sax: Ernie Watts
Background Vocals: Michael McDonald, James Ingram, Joe Puerta, Royce Jones, Buleigh Drummond, John Elefante, Jennifer Holliday, Lisa Harrison, Cynthia Rhodes


  1. Anywhere You Go
  2. I Just Can’t Let Go
  3. Won’t Let You Lose Me
  4. My Baby
  5. That Girl Is Gone
  6. She Don’t (Come Around Anymore)
  7. Do Ya
  8. Prove Me Wrong
  9. No Direction (No Way Home)
  10. Just Be You

Support the artist and Buy It!

Pages: Future Street (1979)

Classic band, classic album. Again, this is their best, in my opinion. Especially as it includes the classic tracks ‘I Do Believe In You’ and ‘Who’s Right, Who’s Wrong’. Kenny Loggins and Jai Winding feature.


Producer: Bobby Colomby

Drums: George Lawrence, Russell Battelene
Guitars: Charles Johnson, Tim May, JoeyTrujillo
Bass: Jerry Manfredi
Keyboards: Richard Page, Steve George, Jai Winding
Synthesizers: Richard Page, Steve George
Percussion: Don Alias, Bobby Colomby, Claudio Slon
Sax: Michael Brecker
Horns: Chuck Findley, Jerry Hey, Lew McCreary, Bill Reichenbach, Larry Williams
Lead Vocals: Richard Page, Steve George
Background Vocals: Richard Page, Steve George, Kenny Loggins, George Hawkins

1. I Do Believe In You
2. The Sailor’s Song
3. Take My Heart Away
4. Future Street
5. Who’s Right, Who’s Wrong
6. Chemistry
7. Two People
8. Keep On Movin’

Support the artist and Buy It!

Dane Donohue (1978)

Features some shit hot musicians and fantastic songs, which makes this an essential album for any lover of Westcoast AOR.  Apparently, before this album he was touring in ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’ but I have no idea what happened to him after this, his one and only album.


Producer: Terence Boylan with Jai Winding, Steve Hodge, John Boylan

Drums: Andy Smith, David Kemper, Steve Gadd, Ed Greene
Guitars: Larry Carlton, Dane Donohue, Jay Graydon, Steve Lukather
Bass: Jeff D’Angelo, Bob Glaub, Scott Edwards, Chuck Rainey, Mike Porcaro
Piano: Jai Winding, David Getreau, Victor Feldman
Percussion: Victor Feldman, Steve Forman
Sax: Ernie Watts
Horns: Steve Madaio, Chuck Findley, Slyde Hyde, Gary Herbig, Tom Saviano
Background Vocals: Don Henley, Stevie Nicks, J.D. Souther, Tim Schmit, Herb Pedersen, Tom Kelly, Bill Champlin


  1. Casablanca
  2. Dance With The Stranger
  3. What Am I Supposed To Do
  4. Woman
  5. Where Will You Go
  6. Freedom
  7. Can’t Be Seen
  8. Whatever Happened
  9. Tracey
  10. Congratulations

Support the artist and Buy It!