Boz Scaggs: Down Two Then Left (1977)

This album was always going to be a slightly tricky sell after the genius of ‘Silk Degrees’. For me this is not as good as that album or the one that followed it ‘Middle Man’, but it is still Boz Scaggs and it is still an excellent album.


Producer: Joe Wissert

Drums: Jeff Porcaro
Guitars: Jay Graydon, Ray Parker Jr., Steve Lukather
Bass: Scott Edwards, David Hungate
Piano: Jai Winding
Keyboards: Michael Omartian
Percussion: Bobbye Hall
Horns: Chuck Findley, Steve Madaio, Ernie Watts, Fred Selden, Don Menza, David Duke
Background Vocals: Carolyn Willis, Jim Gilstrap, John Lehman, Venetta Fields, Phyllis St. James, Myrna Matthews, Julia Tillman

1. Still Falling For You
2. Hard Times
3. A Clue
4. Whatcha Gonna Tell Your Man
5. We’re Waiting
6. Hollywood
7. Then She Walked Away
8. Gimme The Goods
9. 1993
10. Tomorrow Never Came

Support the artist and Buy It!

The New York Rock and Soul Revue: Live at the Beacon (1991)

One of the best live albums I have ever heard, featuring probably the best cast possible. Michael McDonald, Boz Scaggs, Donald Fagen, Phoebe Snow and the Brigati brothers. Apart from the great songs and musicianship, it sounds like it was an absolute hoot for the performers and the audience.


Producer: Donald Fagen, Elliot Scheiner

Backing Vocals: Dian Sorel, Mindy Jostyn, Philip Hamilton, Ula Hedwig
Drums: Dennis McDermott
Electric Bass, Acoustic Bass: Lincoln Schleifer
Guitar: Danny Caron, Drew Zingg, Jimmy Vivino, Larry DeBari
Harmonica: Mindy Jostyn
Keyboards: Jeff Young
Melodica: Donald Fagen
Percussion: David Brigati, Eddie Brigati, Philip Hamilton
Piano: Charles Brown, Donald Fagen
Piano [Dx]: Michael McDonald
Piano [Fender]: Donald Fagen
Tenor Saxophone: Cornelius Bumpus, John Hagen
Trumpet: Chris Anderson
Vocals: Boz Scaggs, Charles Brown, David Brigati, Donald Fagen, Eddie Brigati, Jeff Young, John Hagen, Michael McDonald, Phoebe Snow
Vocal Trumpet: Bob Gurland

1. Intro: Tom Schiller
2. Madison Time: Donald Fagen With Jeff Young & The Youngsters
3. Knock On Wood: Michael McDonald & Phoebe Snow
4. Green Flower Street: Donald Fagen
5. Shakey Ground: Phoebe Snow
6. At Last: Phoebe Snow
7. Lonely Teardrops: Michael McDonald
8. Drowning In The Sea Of Love: Boz Scaggs
9. Driftin’ Blues: Charles Brown
10. Chain Lightning: Donald Fagen
11. Groovin’: Eddie Brigati And David Brigati
12. Minute By Minute: Michael McDonald
13. People Got To Be Free: Full Cast
14. Pretzel Logic: Donald Fagen With Michael McDonald
15. Madison Reprise: Donald Fagen With Jeff Young & The Youngsters

Support the artists and Buy It!