Robson Jorge & Lincoln Olivetti (1982)

A bit of a classic here.

There are six percussionists on this album and that is important because the whole album is about rhythm as, I guess, Brazilian music in general is about. It’s certainly integral anyway. Great tracks include ‘Raton’ and ‘Jorgea Corisco’.

I love this album, but give it a listen and see what you think?


Producer: Max Pierre


  1. Jorgea Corisco
  2. No Bom Sentido
  3. Aleluia
  4. Raton
  5. Pret-à-porter
  6. Squash
  7. Eva
  8. Fã Sustenido
  9. Zé Piolho
  10. Baila Comigo/Festa Braba
  11. Ginga
  12. Alegrias

Electric Piano, Guitar, Bass, Synthesizer, Vocals, Vocoder: Robson Jorge

Electric Piano, Piano, Synthesizer, Synthesizer, Sequenced By: Lincoln Olivetti

Percussion: Peninha, Mamao, Paulinho Braga, Picolé, Ariovaldo, Renato Britto

Bass: Jamil, Paulo Cezar

Saxophone: Oberdan, Leo Gandelman, Zé Carlos

Trombone: Serginho

Trumpet: Bidinho, Marcio Montarroyos

Backing Vocals: Reginaldo, Ronaldo, Tony Bizarro, Zé Carlos, Serginho

Support the artist and Buy It!

Dave Koz: Lucky Man (1993)

A quick upload today. I’m off to see ‘Arrival’ at the cinema. Smooth Jazz for the winter blues.


Producer: Dennis Lambert


Saxophones: Dave Koz, Clarence Clemons, Stephen “Doc” Kupka & Maceo Parker

Keyboards: John Barnes, Robbie Buchanan, Brad Cole, Claude Gaudette, Booker T. Jones, Jeff Lorber, Kenny Moore, Bill Payne, Greg Phillinganes, Chester Thompson & Carl Sturken

Drums: Curt Bisquera, Ed Greene, Rayford Griffin, Ricky Lawson, John Robinson & Mark Schulman

Guitar: Teddy Castellucci Howard “Buzz” Feiten, Robben Ford Paul Jackson, Jr. Jeff Koz, Bob Mann, Oliver Leiber, Carlos Rios, Michael Thompson  & Carl Sturken

Bass: Nathan East, Jimmy Haslip, Alec Milstein, Edward James Olmos, Pino Palladino & John Pena

Percussion: Lenny Castro, Michael Fisher, Paulinho da Costa, Machito Sanchez & Steve Reid

Lead Vocals: Phil Perry, Charles Pettigrew & Zelma Davis

Background Vocals: Alex Brown, Jim Gilstrap, Franne Golde, Phillip Ingram, Evelyn King, Dennis Lambert, Jean McClain, Monalisa, Jheryl Lockhart, Katrina Perkins, Jeff Pescetto & Evan Rogers, Yvonne Williams, Gigi Worth, Terry Young & Leslie Smith


  1. Shakin’ the Shack
  2. You Make Me Smile
  3. Faces of the Heart
  4. Don’t Look Any Further (Prelude
  5. Don’t Look Any Further
  6. Tender Is the Night
  7. Saxman
  8. After Dark
  9. Lucky Man
  10. Silver Lining
  11. Wait a Little While
  12. Show Me the Way
  13. Misty


Support the artist and Buy It!

Lee Ritenour: Captain Fingers (1977)

I found this album in a local second hand CD shop over the summer and thought I’d give it a go, even though I’ve never a huge fan of the man and don’t possess any of his other albums. Boy, am I glad I bought it though. It’s a great album and considering it’s only his second platter it is hugely accomplished and features a plethora of West Coast talent.

It features a fantastic version of Stevie Wonder’s ‘Isn’t She Lovely’ (with Bill Champlin on vocals) and my personal favourite ‘Fly By Night’ written by Dave Grusin.

I’ve never been a fan over instrumental albums as I find that they can be over-indulgent, and there are one of two times that this albums strays into that territory, but they are fleeting and don’t spoil the listening.


Producer: Skip Drinkwater

Drums: Harvey Mason, Jeff Porcaro
Guitars: Lee Ritenour, Dennis Budimir, Jay Graydon, Mitch Holder, Ray Parker Jr.
Bass: Anthony Jackson, Alphonso Johnson, Bill Dickinson, Charles Meeks, Mike Porcaro
Keyboards: Dave Grusin, Dawilli Gonga, Ian Underwood, Patrice Rushen, David Foster
Percussion: Harvey Mason, Steve Forman
Congas: Victor Feldman
Sax: Ernie Watts
Vocals: Bill Champlin


  1. Captain Fingers
  2. Dolphin Dreams
  3. Fly By Night
  4. Margarita
  5. Isn’t She Lovely
  6. Space Glide
  7. Sun Song


Support the artist and Buy It!

Masayoshi Takanaka: An Insatiable High (1977)

Just a quick post today….. Enjoy!


Producer: Masayoshi Takanaka

Baritone Saxophone: Steve Kupka
Bass: Abraham Laboriel, Chuck Rainey
Drums: Ed Greene, Harvey Mason, Shuichi Ponta Murakami
Guitar: Lee Ritenour, Masayoshi Takanaka
Horn: Tower Of Power
Keyboards: Jun Fukamachi, Patrice Rushen
Percussion: Motoya Hamaguchi, Paulo De Costa, Steve Forman
Tenor Saxophone: Emilio Castillo, Lenny Pickett
Trumpet: Greg Adams, Mic Gillette
Vocals: Jim Gilstrap, Julia Tillman Waters, Maxine Anderson, Maxine Willard Waters

1. Sexy Dance
2. Malibu
3. An Insatiable High
4. E.S.P.
5. M5
6. Sundrops
7. Good (Bad?) Old Days

Support the artist and Buy It!

Alpha Centauri: 20:33 (1980)

Alpha Centauri was a Danish group who played soft Jazz/fusion. It seems that they only made this one album, entitled ’20:33′. I stumbled across them and immediately fell in love with their brand of smoothness. They sound not unlike two other Danish jazz/fusion groups Kamæleon and Entrance and not a million miles away from Pat Metheny. It is pure instrumental Jazz fusion of the highest order, so smooth that you could put it in a nappy and call it a baby’s arse!!

Alpha Centauri

Producer: Nils Henriksen

Bass: Bo Stief
Drums: Ole Theill
Guitar: Bjarne Roupe
Keyboards: Jørgen Emborg
Trumpet: Palle Mikkelborg

1. Sangris
2. Ten Minutes Later
3. Sirius
4. Tivoli
5. 3rd Kind
6. 20:33
7. Yellow Girl
8. Majdag

Support the artist and Buy It