Michael Sembello: Bossa Nova Hotel (1983)

This is a proper mixed bag of an album, touching on Westcoast AOR (Lay Back), Hi-Tech AOR (Automatic Man) and Hi-Energy (Maniac). To be fair the album is coherent and works well despite the mix of styles.

‘Lay Back’ has become something of a minor Westcoast classic in it’s own right, appearing in many mixes and on many compilations. You’ll know ‘Maniac’, of course.

This version includes some bonus tracks.


Producer: Phil Ramone

Drums: Carlos Vega, Vinnie Colaiuta
Guitars: Michael Sembello
Bass: Michael Sembello, Danny Sembello, Nathan Watts
Piano: Danny Sembello
Keyboards: Don Freeman, Danny Sembello, Michael Sembello
Synthesizers: Danny Sembello, Chris Page, Dennis Matkosky, George Duke
Percussion: Paulinho Da Costa
Horns: Jerry Hey, Gary Herbig, Gary Grant, Bill Reichenbach
Background Vocals: Danny Sembello, John Sembello, Cruz Baca Sembello

1. Automatic Man
2. First Time
3. Cowboy
4. It’s Over
5. Maniac
6. Godzilla
7. Talk
8. Cadillac
9. Lay Back
10. Superman
11. Automatic Man (maxi)
12. Maniac (extended)
13. Maniac (instrumental)
14. Summer Lovers (bonus)

Support the artist and Buy It!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s